Checked 2026-10-04
Mealime is shutting down on October 21. Here is what to do.
Mealime closes on October 21, 2026, and deletes account data when it does. The announcement mentions no export tool, so save the recipes you care about first: print them from the web app, or import their links into an app that saves recipes from websites. To keep the same recipes for free, Mealime's owner points you to Meals Hub in Albertsons grocery apps.
Miss Mealime's shared-ingredient weeks? Plan a week of dinners that share ingredients, with one list of only what you are missing. Free, no account needed. We built it for exactly this.
We make Riff.kitchen, which is one of the options below, so read this knowing that. Every fact about Mealime and the other apps links to the company's own page, and we say where our app is the wrong choice.
What is happening
Mealime will stop on October 21, 2026.
“we regret to inform you that Mealime will be discontinued as of October 21, 2026.”
Source: mealime.com
Mealime is owned by Albertsons Companies, which is moving users to Meals Hub inside its grocery store apps and websites.
“we're transitioning customers to Meals Hub as our primary recipe and meal-planning platform on our Albertsons Cos. store apps.”
Source: mealime.com
Meals Hub works even if there is no Albertsons store near you.
“You can still browse recipes, create meal plans, and generate shopping lists from Meals Hub, even if you're unable to shop at an Albertsons Cos. store.”
Source: mealime.com
Pro subscribers will not be charged again, and Pro features are now free for everyone until the end.
“Effective immediately, Pro subscribers will not be charged any additional subscription fees before Mealime is discontinued on October 21, 2026.”
Source: mealime.com
Your Mealime account data will be deleted.
“All personal data will be deleted when the Mealime application is shut down.”
Source: mealime.com
Some preferences and settings have to be set up again in Meals Hub.
“Certain preferences and settings will need to be established directly within Meals Hub.”
Source: mealime.com
The announcement does not mention an export tool, and it does not mention refunds.
Source: mealime.com
Save your recipes before October 21
- 1
Print the recipes you cook most, from a computer
Log in to Mealime on the web, open the recipe, scroll to the bottom and click the printer icon. Choose "Save as PDF" in the print dialog to keep a file instead of paper.
“printing is not currently possible using a mobile device (iOS or Android).”
Source: support.mealime.com
- 2
Save your grocery list as a PDF
The web app can print the grocery list, which you can also save as a PDF.
Source: support.mealime.com
- 3
Copy the links to your favourite recipes
Mealime recipes are public web pages under mealime.com/recipes, so each one has a link you can keep. Mealime has not said whether those pages stay online after October 21, so do not rely on the links alone.
Source: mealime.com
- 4
Import those links into an app that saves recipes from websites, before the date
Paprika, Plan to Eat, AnyList, Samsung Food, BigOven and eMeals all say they can save recipes from a web page. Do it while the Mealime pages are still up. Riff.kitchen cannot do this: it writes new recipes from what is in your kitchen, it does not store an imported collection.
The alternatives, and what each is best for
Prices are from each company's own site or app store listing on 2026-10-04. Check the source before you pay.
Meals Hub (Albertsons Companies)
Keeping the exact Mealime recipes, free. It is Mealime’s official replacement.
- Free
- Yes, described as "100% free"
- Paid
- None
- Saves recipes from websites
- Not stated
Mealime says it "includes all the Mealime recipes you enjoy today plus thousands more". Find it under More, then Meals Hub, in an Albertsons Companies store app, or on the store websites.
Source: mealime.com
Paprika 3
Owning a recipe collection you imported from anywhere.
- Free
- No, not on iOS
- Paid
- $4.99 on iOS, $29.99 on Mac, bought separately per platform
- Saves recipes from websites
- Yes, from websites, with a Safari extension
Also has a pantry with expiry dates.
Source: apps.apple.com
Plan to Eat
Weekly meal planning with your own saved recipes.
- Free
- No. 14-day trial, no card required
- Paid
- $5.95 a month or $49 a year
- Saves recipes from websites
- Yes, from the share button in your browser
Source: plantoeat.com
AnyList
A grocery list shared across a household.
- Free
- Yes, but only 5 recipes imported from the web
- Paid
- $9.99 a year, or $14.99 a year for a household
- Saves recipes from websites
- Yes, with browser extensions
Source: anylist.com
Samsung Food
A free all-in-one planner that saves recipes from any site.
- Free
- Yes
- Paid
- Food+ at $6.99 a month or $59.99 a year
- Saves recipes from websites
- Yes, it says it can save any recipe from any website
Also lists pantry management.
Source: apps.apple.com
BigOven
A low-cost upgrade with a web clipper.
- Free
- Yes
- Paid
- Pro at $2.99 a month or $24.99 a year
- Saves recipes from websites
- Yes, with the BigOven Clipper
Source: apps.apple.com
eMeals
Ready-made weekly meal plans chosen for you.
- Free
- No. 14-day trial
- Paid
- As low as $4.99 a month on a 12-month plan
- Saves recipes from websites
- Yes, recipes from anywhere on the web
Source: emeals.com
Prepear
A free planner with an optional yearly plan.
- Free
- Yes
- Paid
- Prepear Gold, with in-app prices listed from $9.99 to $119.99
- Saves recipes from websites
- Yes, it says you can save and import recipes free, with no recipe limit
Source: apps.apple.com
Eat This Much
Meal plans generated for you.
- Free
- Yes, daily meal plans
- Paid
- Premium at $5 a month, billed yearly
- Saves recipes from websites
- Not stated
Source: eatthismuch.com
Riff.kitchen (us)
Cooking from what is already in your kitchen, and wasting less of it.
- Free
- Yes, no card needed
- Paid
- Chef’s Pass at $6.99 a month or $49.99 a year
- Saves recipes from websites
- No. It writes new recipes from your ingredients instead
Keeps your pantry with expiry dates, plans meals around food that needs using, and builds a shopping list of only what you are missing.
Source: riff.kitchen
Questions Mealime users are asking
When is Mealime shutting down?
Mealime says it will be discontinued as of October 21, 2026. Its owner, Albertsons Companies, is moving users to Meals Hub inside its grocery store apps and websites.
Will Mealime Pro keep charging me?
No. Mealime says Pro subscribers will not be charged any more fees before it closes, and Pro features are free for everyone until then. The announcement does not mention refunds, so if you paid ahead for a year, ask Mealime support directly.
Can I export my Mealime recipes?
The shutdown announcement does not mention an export tool, and Mealime’s help centre has no export article. What you can do: print recipes from the web app (not the phone apps), save the grocery list as a PDF, and copy recipe links into an app that saves recipes from websites, such as Paprika, Plan to Eat, AnyList or Samsung Food. Do it before October 21.
What happens to my Mealime data?
Mealime says all personal data will be deleted when the app shuts down, and that some preferences and settings will need to be set up again in Meals Hub.
Do I need to shop at Albertsons, Safeway or a sister store to use Meals Hub?
According to Mealime, no. It says you can still browse recipes, create meal plans and generate shopping lists in Meals Hub even if you cannot shop at an Albertsons Companies store.
What is the best free alternative to Mealime?
It depends what you used it for. To keep the same recipes, Meals Hub is free and includes them. To keep your own collection from many sites, Samsung Food is free and saves recipes from websites. To cook from what you already have and waste less, Riff.kitchen is free. We make Riff.kitchen, so weigh that recommendation accordingly.
Where Riff.kitchen fits
If you used Mealime to keep a library of recipes, Riff.kitchen is not the right replacement: it does not import them. Use Meals Hub for the same recipes, or one of the recipe managers above.
If you used Mealime to answer “what's for dinner” and to build the grocery list, Riff.kitchen does that from the other direction. Tell it what is in your kitchen and it writes the recipe, starting with whatever is about to go off, and the shopping list only has what you are missing. It is free, with no card needed.
Checked 2026-10-04. We are not affiliated with Mealime, Albertsons Companies or any app on this page, and there are no affiliate links. Related: what meal kits actually cost.